Skip to main content

Terrorism - Finding Resources: Start Your Research

Start your research

 

Student's Toolkit

Find assistance for writing and researching

Full-Screen searching is available!          

Look for the MCRL icon on your i-pad desktop!!!!       

Search Our Collection

Search our Collection
Limit Your Results
 

How To: Terrorism Research

1. ProQuest - Scholarly articles and dissertations focusing on many topics, including Security, Military and Political Science. 


2. Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full-text access to Homeland Security, U.S. Policy, Strategy, Federal/State/Local Governments, International Relations, Government & Think Tank Reports along with Military Student Papers. 

Below is a general search; you can see there are many ways to narrow down your results. 

If you're looking for a specific type of document, such as a CRS or GAO report, you can choose that when you start your search:

Or, look for Featured Topics and choose one to find the top reports and testimony:


3. International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) - ON-CAMPUS only provides full-text access to Intelligence on Security & Threat Analysis.  Includes reports, books, summaries and scholarly journals.


4.  TRAC, the Terrorism Research & Analysis Center, collects information from News Sources, Universities and Think Tanks around the world.  You'll find brief profiles on over 4500 Terrorist & Insurgency Groups.  Begin by clicking on Search and entering your terms.

When your results display, you can click on a link to read an article or report. 


5. Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on Terrorist Events around the world from 1970 - 2017.  Includes systematic data on Domestic and International Terrorist Incidents.


6. Military Periscope - Available April 1, 2019! Tracks information on Nations' Armed Forces, Terrorist Organizations and Weapons Systems.  Includes Daily News updates. 

 

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some search terms we used in the class.  Try these + your region or country.

Don't forget to use "quotation marks" to search for a phrase and terro* to search for words beginning with a root.

ProQuest: Terrorism AND ideology

or: "foreign fighter"

HSDL: "lone wolf" terro*

or: "lone actor" terro*

ISCTRC: extremism and counter*

TRAC: "islamic state" (Search is at top of page)

GTD: aqap or "al qaeda"

Military Periscope: Search by group name, weapons system or country name.

 

MCRL SERVICE: LibGuides

LibGuides are a service provided by Marshall Center librarians to compile information resources on selected topics for Marshall Center faculty, staff, students, alumni and other library users. Use of these resources does not reflect the views of or endorsement by the Marshall Center, the US Department of Defense, or the US government, German government or Munich Security Conference. All original content in these compilations is copyrighted, unless specifically noted otherwise. All rights to copyrighted items are reserved.

Reference herein to any specific commercial products, process, or service by trade name, trademark, manufacturer, or otherwise, does not necessarily constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the United States Government. The views and opinions of authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the United States Government, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes. With respect to documents available from this server, neither the United States Government nor any of its service members or employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights.