MCRL-LibGuides: Library Course Guides: PTSS Course Guide

Quick Links

Ask a Librarian

Databases of Interest to PTSS Participants

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A best bet database for peer reviewed, scholarly research in the topics Security Studies and Terrorism.
The definitive intelligence database for security and threat analysis. Essential for security analysts and researchers, it provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security and risk management options.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Another best bet resource for academic journals and dissertations, analytical reports, as well as current information from news organizations.
ProQuest Central database is a large multidisciplinary database with over 35,000 titles. Select from over 40 topical databases or search all. Topics include business, regional studies, military, social sciences, as well as newswires and newsstreams.

Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (Open Access)
more...less...
The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED) is a disaggregated data collection, analysis, and crisis mapping project. ACLED collects information on the dates, actors, locations, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events around the world. The ACLED team conducts analysis to describe, explore, and test conflict scenarios, and makes both data and analysis open for free use by the public.
Basel Anti-Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing Index (Open Access)
more...less...
Produced by the Basel Institute on Governance since 2012, it provides holistic money laundering and terrorist financing (ML/TF) risk scores based on data from 18 publicly available sources such as the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), Transparency International, the World Bank and the World Economic Forum.
Database on Suicide Attacks (Open Access)
more...less...
University of Chicago's Database on Suicide Attacks (DSAT) contains specific information for all suicide attacks committed in modern history, from 1982 through 2019. Event records in the DSAT are highly detailed and coded for over 60 variables (not including source information).
Global Terrorism Database (Open Access)
more...less...
National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) database of incidents of terrorism worldwide since 1970. Must register to access data after 2019.
Global Terrorism Index (Open Access)
more...less...
GTI is a composite measure made up of four indicators: incidents, fatalities, injuries and hostages. To measure the impact of terrorism, a five-year weighted average is applied.
Hate Symbols Database (Open Access)
more...less...
This database provides an overview of many of the symbols most frequently used by a variety of white supremacist groups and movements, as well as some other types of hate groups.

HSDL: Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to policy and strategy documents, special collections, featured topics, research tools, blogs, timelines, etc. Documents from federal, state and local government agencies, international NGOs, research institutes and think tanks.

Mapping Militants Project (Open Access)
more...less...
The Mapping Militants Project identifies patterns in the evolution of militant organizations in specified conflict theatres and provides representations of changing relationships among groups. Relationships are traced in interactive timeline-diagrams or “maps,” which provide visual representations of how inter-group relationships such as rivalries and alliances change over time. The maps are linked to group profiles, which compile open-source news and data on militant organizations to provide a comprehensive, fully cited report on each group.

Military Periscope This link opens in a new window
Military defense information on more than 165 countries, about armed forces, weapons and equipment, and terrorist organizations. Also provides Daily News Capsules and Special Reports.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete is a full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (Off-Campus access) This link opens in a new window
TRAC combines one of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorist groups, hate groups and their abettors with original, analytical essays on seminal terrorism topics, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feed of news and analyses.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (On-Campus access) This link opens in a new window
Access to databases covering terrorists, terrorist groups, hate groups and their abettors with original, analytical essays on seminal terrorism topics, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feed of news and analyses.

United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism
more...less...
Resources including international legal instruments, publications, documents, and UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy

Marshall Center Research Library eBooks of Interest to PTSS Participants

Extremism by J. M. Berger
ISBN: 9780262349376
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Regulating and Combating Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing by Nkechikwu Valerie Azinge-Egbiri
ISBN: 9781000351750
Publication Date: 2021-03-01

More eBooks on Terrorism & Violent Extremism on OverDrive Ask a Librarian to Create Your OverDrive eBook Account.

Counter-Terrorism Community Engagement by Jason Hartley
ISBN: 9780367680718
Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Nonstate Warfare by Stephen Biddle
ISBN: 9780691207513
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

More eBooks on Terrorism & Violent Extremism from EBSCO eBook Collection You can register for your own account in the EBSCO eBook collection - please ask a librarian if you need any assistance.

Marshall Center Research Library Books (Print) on Terrorism Available to Borrow during PTSS

Boko Haram's Terrorist Campaign in Nigeria by Temitope B. Oriola; Freedom Onuoha; Samuel Oyewole
Call Number: HV6433.N62 B65 2021
ISBN: 9781032077826
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Terror in Transition by Tricia Bacon; Elizabeth Grimm
Call Number: HV6431.B324 2022
ISBN: 9780231192248
Publication Date: 2022-09-13

More Books (Print) on Terrorism Available to Borrow during PTSS Visit the library and we will set you up with an account to borrow (physical) books while you are here for the course..

Think Tanks, Research Centers, and Open Access Resources of Interest to PTSS Participants

C-REX - University of Oslo The Center for Research on Extremism, C-REX, is a cross-disciplinary center for the study of right-wing extremism, hate crime and political violence. It is a joint collaboration with six of the leading Norwegian institutions and four international institutions on extremism research.
Center for Right-Wing Studies - UC Berkeley The mission of the Center, which is housed at the Institute for the Study of Societal Issues (ISSI), is twofold: first, to identify right-wing movements, flesh out their twentieth-century histories while isolating their novel aspects in the 21st century; and second, to develop and apply principles of how right-wing thought, ideology and organizational capacities operate to understand the state of the contemporary Right and identify its likely directions and successes.
Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right The Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right (CARR) is a UK-based research centre and pedagogical outreach initiative focused on the study and countering of radical right extremism and intersecting phenomena (e.g. populism, gender, antisemitism, and Islamophobia) that aims to support a variety of mainstream groups, from government agencies to grass-roots charities, through podcasts, commentary, research reports, presentations, media interviews and commissioned work.
Combating Terrorism Center at West Point The Combating Terrorism Center at West Point educates, advises, and conducts research to equip present and future leaders with the intellectual tools necessary to understand the challenges of terrorism and counterterrorism.
EU Terrorism Situation & Trend Report Europol’s annual EU Terrorism Situation and Trend Report (TE-SAT) provides an overview of the terrorism phenomenon in the EU in a given year. The fight against terrorism is a top priority for the EU and for Europol, and that means that TE-SAT is one of Europol’s most significant pieces of strategic analysis. It offers law enforcement officials, policymakers and the general public facts and figures on terrorism in the EU, while also identifying developing trends in this crime area, based on information that Member States make available to Europol.
Extremism Tracker - George Washington University The Program on Extremism at George Washington University has become a leading research center on all forms of extremism. The Program spearheads innovative and thoughtful academic inquiry, producing empirical work and developing pragmatic policy solutions that resonate with policymakers, civic leaders, and the general public. Its partnerships with some of the world’s most prominent universities, think tanks, media outlets and governmental agencies are a testament of the Program’s research quality, independence and innovative approach.
Extremist Files - Southern Poverty Law Center The Extremist Files database contains profiles of various prominent extremists and extremist organizations. It also examines the histories and core beliefs – or ideologies – of the most common types of extremist movements.
Financial Action Task Force Reports on Terrorist Financing The FATF researches how money is laundered, and terrorism is funded, promotes global standards to mitigate the risks, and assesses whether countries are taking effective action.
Global Initiative Against Transnational Organized Crime The Global Initiative against Transnational Organized Crime, which provides a platform to promote greater debate and innovative approaches, which serve as the building blocks to an inclusive global strategy against organized crime.
Global Network on Extremism and Technology The Global Network on Extremism and Technology (GNET) is the academic research arm of the Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism (GIFCT) and aims to better understand the ways in which terrorists use technology.
Hatebase Hatebase is a collaborative, regionalized repository of multilingual hate speech, developed in partnership between the Dark Data Project and The Sentinel Project Hatebase was built to assist companies, government agencies, NGOs and research organizations moderate online conversations and potentially use hate speech as a predictor for regional violence.
IMPACT Europe An evaluation Toolkit for professionals working in the counter violent extremism field.
Institute for Strategic Dialogue The Institute for Strategic Dialogue (ISD) is an independent, non-profit organisation dedicated to safeguarding human rights and reversing the rising tide of polarisation, extremism and disinformation worldwide.
International Centre for Counter-Terrorism ICCT’s publications and resources provide “policy-relevant and evidence-based research while aiming to provide practical and solutions-oriented policy recommendations.”
Jihadology Primary source materials from jihadi groups worldwide. Requires registration for access to primary source materials.
Lone Wolf Terrorism Homeland Security Digital Library publications on lone wolf terrorism. Only available through GCMC subscription.
MEMRI Cyber Terrorism and Jihadi Lab The Cyber & Jihad Lab monitors, tracks, translates, researches, and analyzes cyber jihad originating from the Middle East, Iran, South Asia, and North and West Africa. It innovates and experiments with possible solutions for stopping cyber jihad, advancing legislation and initiatives federally – including with Capitol Hill and attorneys-general – and on the state level, to draft and enforce measures that will serve as precedents for further action.
Program on Extremism Prosecution Cases - George Washington University The Program on Extremism reviewed more than 20,000 pages of criminal complaints, indictments, affidavits, and courtroom transcripts detailing Islamic State-related legal proceedings. Supplemented by original research and interviews with prosecutors, reporters and even some families of the charged individuals, the Program developed a snapshot of the 238 individuals charged for IS-related activities. This is an incredibly heterogeneous group, comprising an array of ethnic groups and a range of socio-economic and educational status. What follows is one of the largest online collections of legal records related to IS radicalization and recruitment in the United States.
Project CRAAFT Reports from the Collaboration, Research & Analysis Against the Financing of Terrorism Project.
RAND Publications on Terrorism From the Munich Olympics to 9/11 to worldwide bombings and mass shootings, terrorism is by no means a localized or recent phenomenon. Efforts to both catalog and counter terrorism, both in the United States and abroad, have been a key focus of RAND research since the early 1970s.
SIPRI MENA Publications Publications on terrorism and violent extremism from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.
South Asia Terrorism Portal SATP is the largest website on terrorism and low intensity warfare in South Asia, and creates the database and analytic context for research and analysis of all extremist movements in the region. SATP has been set up to counter the progressive distortions regarding, and the international community’s neglect of, the wide range of terrorist movements within South Asia, and particularly in India. SATP establishes a comprehensive, searchable and continuously updated database on all available information relating to terrorism, low intensity warfare and ethnic/communal/sectarian strife in South Asia.
Tech Against Terrorism Tech Against Terrorism is an initiative launched and supported by the United Nations Counter Terrorism Executive Directorate (UN CTED) working with the global tech industry to tackle terrorist use of the internet whilst respecting human rights. Our plan of action revolves around three pillars: outreach, knowledge-sharing, and practical support.
Terrorism Monitor An Open Access publication of the Jamestown Foundation - a leading Think Tank.

Journals of Interest to PTSS Participants Available via the Marshall Center Research Library

Africa Affairs African Security explores fresh approaches to understanding Africa’s conflicts and security concerns. Its investigation of competing analytical approaches to security complements discussions of current security issues in Africa. The journal strives to investigate the myriad issues relating to conflict and security within and between African nations, not only from the more traditional approaches to security studies but also from more novel and innovative perspectives.
African Journal of Terrorism and Insurgency Research African Journal of Terrorism and Insurgency Research is an international, double-blind, peer-reviewed and interdisciplinary periodical dedicated to theoretical and empirical research on all aspects of terrorism, insurgency and counter-insurgency strategies. The journal aims to create space for intellectual exchanges and welcomes quality theoretical, empirical and policy-oriented articles, especially those written from African perspectives or whose themes will be of relevance to African scholarship.
African Security African Security explores fresh approaches to understanding Africa’s conflicts and security concerns. Its investigation of competing analytical approaches to security complements discussions of current security issues in Africa. The journal strives to investigate the myriad issues relating to conflict and security within and between African nations, not only from the more traditional approaches to security studies but also from more novel and innovative perspectives. In order to truly understand conflict in Africa, existing paradigms in national and international security must be challenged. African security cannot be understood by applying only traditional theories and approaches to the study of international security, and to this end African Security seeks to push the envelope of traditional security studies while remaining firmly grounded in the extant security issues facing Africa.
American Journal of International Law AJIL is a leading peer-reviewed journal, published quarterly since 1907. It features articles, editorials, notes, comments, and book reviews by pre-eminent scholars and practitioners from around the world addressing developments in public and private international law. The Journal also contains analyses of decisions by national and international courts and tribunals as well as a section on contemporary U.S. practice in international law. AJIL is indispensable for all professionals working in international law, economics, trade, and foreign affairs.
Armed Conflict Survey The Armed Conflict Survey provides in-depth analysis of the political, military and humanitarian dimensions of all major armed conflicts, as well as data on fatalities, refugees and internally displaced persons. Compiled by the IISS, publisher of The Military Balance, it is the standard reference work on contemporary conflict.
Counter Terrorist Trends & Analysis The Counter Terrorist Trends and Analyses (CTTA) carries articles with in-depth analysis of topical issues on terrorism and counter-terrorism, broadly structured around a common theme. CTTA brings perspectives from counter-terrorism researchers and practitioners with a view to produce policy relevant analysis. Launched in 2009, Counter Terrorist Trends and Analyses is the journal of the International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research (ICPVTR) of the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) at the Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.
CREST Security Review A magazine produced by international experts for the needs of government, police, and security professionals, CREST Security Review provides a gateway to the latest behavioural and social science research into security threats.
Critical Studies on Terrorism Critical Studies on Terrorism is an international, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal. The journal seeks to publish quality research on all aspects of terrorism, counter-terrorism and state terror. All submitted manuscripts are subject to an initial blind peer -review by the Editors, and, if found suitable for further consideration, to a second peer -review by independent, anonymous expert referees. Submission is by email. Critical Studies on Terrorism aims to create space for robust, innovative research on terrorism and political violence, and encourages fruitful intellectual engagement between critical and orthodox accounts of terrorism. In particular, the Editors are looking for empirical, theoretical and policy-oriented articles that recognise the inherently problematic nature of the terrorism label, employ a critical-normative perspective broadly defined, and challenge accepted orthodoxies. Research on terrorism employing methodological and disciplinary perspectives from outside the political science and international relations paradigms is especially encouraged.
Defence Against Terrorism Review The Centre of Excellence-Defence Against Terrorism (COE-DAT), which is composed of representatives from 9 nations, focuses on providing key decision-makers with realistic solutions to terrorism and Counter-Terrorism (CT) challenges. Defense Against Terrorism Review fosters the sharing of expertise, information and best practices in countering terrorism, for allies within NATO and for partner nations.
Deviant Behavior Deviant Behavior is the only journal that specifically and exclusively addresses social deviance. International and interdisciplinary in scope; it publishes refereed theoretical, descriptive, methodological, and applied papers. All aspects of deviant behavior are discussed, including: crime, juvenile delinquency, alcohol abuse and narcotic addiction, sexual deviance, societal reaction to handicap and disfigurement, mental illness, and socially inappropriate behavior.
European Journal of Crime, Criminal Law & Criminal Justice Provides a European forum for the public academic debate on these issues that not only bridges the gap between the European institutions & the Member States, but that is also open for a non-European view on European developments in those fields.
European Journal of International Law The European Journal of International Law is firmly established as one of the world's leading journals in its field. With its distinctive combination of theoretical and practical approaches to the issues of international law, the journal offers readers a unique opportunity to stay in touch with the latest developments in this rapidly evolving area.
European Security European Security is a forum for discussing challenges and approaches to security within the region as well as for Europe in a global context. The journal seeks to publish critical analyses of policies and developments in European institutions and member states, their relations with European and other immediate neighbours, and their relations with the wider world, including other regional and international organisations. It is also interested in non-European perspectives on Europe in a global context. Whilst the journal is particularly interested in stimulating debate between varied theoretical approaches, it strongly encourages policy debates on topical issues that combine conceptual and empirical analyses. Within this broad framework the journal invites submissions in the following areas: Theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of security in Europe Comparative and in-depth studies of European states and national defence policies European organisations as security providers Conflict prevention, peacekeeping, conflict resolution, and crisis management as reactions to regional insecurity Security and geo-politics of Europe and the wider world
Global Crime Global Crime is a social science journal devoted to the study of crime across international settings. Its focus is multi-disciplinary and its principal aim is to make the best scholarship on crime available to specialists and non-specialists alike. It draws on authors from a variety of disciplines, including criminology, sociology, economics, history, political science, anthropology and area studies.
Intelligence and National Security Intelligence has never played a more prominent role in international politics than it does now in the early years of the twenty-first century. National intelligence services are larger than ever, and they are more transparent in their activities in the policy making of democratic nations. Intelligence and National Security is widely regarded as the world's leading scholarly journal focused on the role of intelligence and secretive agencies in international relations. It examines this aspect of national security from a variety of perspectives and academic disciplines, with insightful articles research and written by leading experts based around the globe.
International Journal of Cyber Warfare and Terrorism (via Proquest) Features research on the ethical, political, legal, and social issues relating to security, terrorism and cybernetic wars.
International Journal of Monitoring and Surveillance Technologies Research Open Access
International Security International Security, the #1 journal in International Relations based on 2019 impact factor, publishes lucid, well-documented essays on the full range of contemporary security issues. Its articles address traditional topics of war and peace, as well as more recent dimensions of security, including environmental, demographic, and humanitarian issues, transnational networks, and emerging technologies.
International Studies Quarterly International Studies Quarterly (ISQ) is the flagship journal of the International Studies Association. It seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies.
Journal for Deradicalization The Journal for Deradicalization (JD) is an independent and peer reviewed academic open access online journal about the theory and practice of deradicalization and processes of violent extremist radicalization worldwide. The journal publishes four issues per year (quarterly) and seeks to provide a platform for established scholars as well as academics, policy makers and practitioners in this field.
Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law This peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law (JDFSL) focuses on the advancement of the field by publishing the state of the art in both basic and applied research conducted worldwide. We purposefully chose to use the word "cyber" in our tagline, instead of "digital," to emphasize the cyber culture surrounding computing, and the word "cyber" also extends itself beyond the technical domain of computing. The Journal’s main aims are to open up the landscape for innovation and discussion, and to continuously bridge the gap between the science and practice of cyber forensics, security and law. This journal encourages both scientists and practitioners to share their discoveries and experiences.
Journal of Financial Crime The Journal of Financial Crime (JFC) publishes authoritative, practical and detailed insight in the most serious and topical issues relating to the control and prevention of financial crime and related abuse. The articles in Journal of Financial Crime (JFC) are authored by some of the leading international scholars and practitioners in the fields of law, criminology, economics, criminal justice and compliance.
Journal of Global Security Studies The Journal of Global Security Studies (JoGSS) aims to publish cutting-edge research which offers a significant, rigorous and original contribution to our understanding of global security and global aspects of debates in security studies. The journal welcomes a variety of methodological, epistemological, theoretical, normative, and empirical approaches to the study of traditional and non-traditional security issues. JoGSS is particularly committed to encouraging dialogue, engagement, and conversation between different parts of the field and across regional boundaries. Due to the volume of submissions we receive, articles that do not make clear how their research links with debates in security studies, or global security issues, will not be considered.
Journal of International Relations and Development This independent, internationally peer-reviewed journal presents theoretically informed empirical analyses of current issues in international relations and international political economy, as well as original theoretical and conceptual analyses. It fosters pluralism of theoretical engagement and conveys epistemological, methodological, and thematical openness that originates in the journal’s regional legacy. This is the official journal of the Central and East European International Studies Association (CEEISA).
Journal of Money Laundering Control Journal of Money Laundering Control is specifically designed for all those concerned with the prevention of money laundering. Its objective is to publish analysis, briefings and updates which are of direct relevance to practitioners while meeting the highest intellectual standards.
Journal of Policing, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism The Journal of Policing, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism (JPICT) is an international peer reviewed scholarly journal that acts as a forum for those around the world undertaking high quality research and practice in the areas of: Policing studies, Intelligence studies, Terrorism and counter terrorism studies; Cyber-policing, intelligence and terrorism.
Journal of Security, Intelligence & Resilience Education The Journal of Security, Intelligence, and Resilience Education (JSIRE) is a peer-reviewed online journal that captures the dynamic and rapidly evolving nature of homeland security, emergency management, and intelligence education. Academia played a vital role in the post-9/11 inception of the homeland security field as it connected to its entwined disciplinary cousin, emergency management, and the related fields of intelligence, national security, criminal justice, public safety, public administration, public health, industrial hygiene, cybersecurity, environmental security and many others. Indeed, homeland security is the quintessential meta-discipline.
Journal of Strategic Studies The field of strategic studies has never been more significant than it is today. Since the appearance of the first issue in 1978, The Journal of Strategic Studies has taken a lead in promoting fresh thinking in the field among scholars and practitioners alike. The defining feature of The Journal of Strategic Studies is its commitment to multi-disciplinary approaches to the study of war. The editors welcome articles that challenge our historical understanding of humanity’s efforts to achieve political ends through the application of military and diplomatic means; articles on contemporary security and theoretical controversies of enduring value; and of course articles that explicitly combine the historical and theoretical approaches to the study of modern warfare, defence policy and modern strategy.
Negotiation Journal Negotiation Journal is an international, multidisciplinary journal devoted to the publication of works that advance the theory, analysis, practice, and instruction of negotiation, mediation, and conflict resolution. The Journal's readers include educators, researchers, diplomats, lawyers, business leaders, labor negotiators, government officials, arbitrators, and mediators. Published by the Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School, the Journal offers a wide range of articles, including those on the economic, legal, psychological, pedagogical, sociological, institutional, and theoretical aspects of dispute resolution
Perspectives on Terrorism Perspectives on Terror is a publication of the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism (ICCT), in partnership with the Institute of Security and Global Affairs (ISGA) at Leiden University, and the Handa Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence (CSTPV) at the University of St Andrews.
Policing: A Journal of Policy and Practice Policing: a Journal of Policy and Practice is a leading policy and practice publication aimed at connecting law enforcement leaders, police researchers, analysts, and policy makers.
RUSI Journal The RUSI Journal is the Institute’s flagship publication and a leading forum for the exchange of ideas on national and international defence and security issues. First published in 1857, the RUSI Journal is the oldest publication of its kind in the world and considered by practitioners and scholars alike to be essential reading for anyone seeking to understand war and conflict, British and international defence and security policies, and military history.
Security Studies Security Studies publishes leading scholarship in the field of international security, broadly construed. The journal is wedded to no particular theoretical paradigm, epistemological stance, or methodological approach. Security Studies embraces the field in all its intellectual diversity, welcoming contributions to scholarly knowledge from the plural communities and research traditions that constitute the field.
Small Wars and Insurgencies Small Wars & Insurgencies provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the academic and scholarly discussion of the historical, political, social, economic and psychological aspects of insurgency, counter-insurgency, limited war and irregular warfare. Peer-reviewed and long-established, Small Wars & Insurgencies invites papers concerned with, but not limited to, the following areas: • insurgencies and guerrilla conflicts past and present • counterinsurgencies including national doctrines • terrorist movements and ideologies • irregular warfare and the debates on its historiography • peacekeeping and “humanitarian intervention”.
Studies in Conflict and Terrorism Studies in Conflict and Terrorism aims to cast new light on the origins and implications of conflict in the 21st Century and to illuminate new approaches and solutions to countering the growth and escalation of contemporary sub-state violence. The journal is specifically oriented to both practitioner and scholarly audiences and is thus meant to bridge the divide between theory and practice. Studies in Conflict and Terrorism thus seeks to publish theoretical and empirical studies that contribute to a better understanding of the causes of terrorism and insurgency as well as the measures required to achieve their resolution. The journal addresses security challenges fuelled by religious and nationalist strife, moribund peace processes, disputes over natural resources, and transnational organized crime.
Survival Survival, the International Institute for Strategic Studies’ bi-monthly journal, is one of the world’s leading forums for analysis and debate of international and strategic affairs. Shaped by its editors to be both timely and forward thinking, the journal encourages writers to challenge conventional wisdom and bring fresh, often controversial, perspectives to bear on the strategic issues of the moment. With a diverse range of authors, Survival aims to be scholarly in depth while vivid, well written and policy relevant in approach. Through commentary, analytical articles, case studies, forums, review essays, reviews and letters to the editor, the journal promotes lively, critical debate on issues of international politics and strategy.
Terrorism and Political Violence Terrorism and Political Violence advances scholarship on a broad range of issues associated with terrorism and political violence, including subjects such as: the political meaning of terrorist activity, violence by rebels and by states, the links between political violence and organized crime, protest, rebellion, revolution, the influence of social networks, and the impact on human rights. The journal draws upon many disciplines and theoretical perspectives as well as comparative approaches to provide some of the most groundbreaking work in a field that has hitherto lacked rigour. Terrorism and Political Violence features symposia and edited volumes to cover an important topic in depth. Subjects have included: terrorism and public policy; religion and violence; political parties and terrorism; technology and terrorism; and right-wing terrorism. The journal is essential reading for all academics, decision-makers, and security specialists concerned with understanding political violence.
Trends in Organized Crime Trends in Organized Crime presents a composite of analyses and syntheses of research on organized crime, drawn from a variety of sources. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research articles and excerpts from significant governmental reports. The contents also include reviews of important new books and presents analysis and commentary on current issues in organized crime.

Library Course Guides: PTSS Course Guide

Discover GCMC Research Library Resources

Quick Links

Ask a Librarian

Databases of Interest to PTSS Participants

Marshall Center Research Library eBooks of Interest to PTSS Participants

Marshall Center Research Library Books (Print) on Terrorism Available to Borrow during PTSS

Think Tanks, Research Centers, and Open Access Resources of Interest to PTSS Participants

Journals of Interest to PTSS Participants Available via the Marshall Center Research Library