Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GCMC Research Library: Archives & Special Collections

Discover GCMC Research Library Resources

United States Army Russian Institute (USARI)

The Marshall Center, established in 1993, inherited a unique collection of materials from the former U.S. Army Russian Institute (USARI). Established in 1947, USARI supported the Department of the Army’s Foreign Area Officer (FAO) program, training thousands of specialists from all military services in Russian language and graduate-level studies in Soviet and Eastern European Studies. The Marshall Center continues to support the program, with Foreign Area Officers regularly participating in Marshall Center resident courses.

The Marshall Center Archives houses the USARI Student Reports, Soviet Posters, and Roots of the Marshall Center. There are over 500 student reports, in Russian and English, submitted in partial fulfillment of course requirements;  more than 65 Soviet-era posters depicting the Soviet revolution, its leaders, and its culture; and also news articles and bulletins that provide some information on the roots of the Marshall Center.

Radio Free Europe and Radio Free Liberty

Our Research Library also contains thousands of documents in its Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty Legacy Collection (RFE/RL). During the Cold War, Radio Free Europe/ Radio Liberty played a crucial role in providing independent information to countries behind the Iron Curtain. RFE/RL compiled and accumulated various high-quality materials in English and Russian, spanning from 1959 to 1994. The Marshall Center’s RFE/RL collection supplements larger holdings of the Hoover Institution Archives at Stanford University and the Open Society Archives at Central European University in Budapest. Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty journalists continue to report the news in 22 countries where there is no free press. Visit their current site at Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty.

Ask a Librarian

MCRL SERVICE: LibGuides

LibGuides are a service provided by Marshall Center librarians to compile information resources on selected topics for Marshall Center faculty, staff, students, alumni and other library users. Use of these resources does not reflect the views of or endorsement by the Marshall Center, the US Department of Defense, or the US government, German government or Munich Security Conference. All original content in these compilations is copyrighted, unless specifically noted otherwise. All rights to copyrighted items are reserved.

Reference herein to any specific commercial products, process, or service by trade name, trademark, manufacturer, or otherwise, does not necessarily constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the United States Government. The views and opinions of authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the United States Government, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes. With respect to documents available from this server, neither the United States Government nor any of its service members or employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights.